Spicy eggplant with tofu and bulghur

Hi its 2017, year of ssaucy’s joint PhD graduation woohoo! We’ll be updating the blog name to drsssaucy’s soon, watch out! 🙂 I was craving eggplant and decided to make spicy eggplant loosely following this recipe. This tasted so good… it actually reminded me to blog about it!

I started off by lightly frying slices of 1/2 of a big eggplant and 1/2 a brick of extra-firm tofu till they were light/medium brown on either side. I seasoned them with salt and pepper as they were frying and the eggplant already tasted great, I ate a bunch of slices just cooking these. 😀

In a smaller saucepan I started boiling ~2 cups of water with a bouillon cube and added ~1 cup of rinsed bulghur and had that going at a rolling boil for ~20 minutes. In a bigger saucepan, I started off by frying sliced red onion, whole baby carrots, chopped portobello mushroom and brussels sprouts. A fun tip I realized about brussels sprouts – slice them as circles, they unfurl a bit as they cook and it adds a nice texture.

Once the vegetables had softened and had a nice roast on them, I added a generous amount (~3-4 tbsp) of “stirfry” sauce which already has soy sauce and oyster sauce in it. I also added 2 heaped tbsp red chilli paste, 1 tsp sugar, 1 tbsp rice vinegar, ground black pepper and lots of minced ginger.

At this point, the bulghur had not adsorbed all the water like it was supposed to. It was my first time making it, and I think I added too much water and lesser bulghur than I thought. Instead, I poured it all into the stirfry saucepan which worked out great because it added more flavour and the bulghur ended up helping thicken the sauce. I think you can’t really overcook bulghur which worked out for me here 🙂

I added 3 big cloves of chopped garlic at this point, and I think that helps too. The garlic doesn’t brown too much and releases a lot of its fresh juices into the sauce. I added in the fried eggplant and tofu, squeezed in 1/2 a lime and freshly chopped coriander and let it all simmer another ~10 minutes till it thickened and the eggplant and tofu absorbed most of the sauce. It didn’t need any more salt, the bouillon cube was salty enough I think. As it cooled, it thickened a bit more so there wasn’t any need to completely evaporate the excess water.

That’s it! It tasted soo good… I wrote this out in detail so I can repeat this again, I’ll probably make it for dinner for friends in the future.

fullsizerender

Leave a Reply

