Chickpea + paneer tacos

chickpea paneer tacos

Another cooking show I’ve been watching a lot lately is “Mexican Fiesta with Peter Kuruvita”.  Peter travels to different cities in Mexico and its really cool to see all the different ways in which Mexicans incorporate local ingredients such as cactus, different kinds of fresh and smoked or dried chillies, chocolate, mole, fresh salsas, pineapple etc. I made these chickpea and paneer tacos inspired by that show.

I cooked chickpeas, mushrooms, yellow bell pepper, paneer cubes with chopped onion, fresh jalapeno peppers and garlic. I seasoned it with chipotle chilli paste, roasted cumin powder, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Towards the end, I added chopped rapini to soften it up with the steam but made sure not to overcook it.

To assemble the tacos, I heated the tortillas with cheese in the oven. I topped it with the chickpea + paneer mix, drizzled spicy tomato salsa and added slices of fresh ripe avocado and fresh chopped coriander, dill and oregano from the garden.

I think the best part for me personally was the fresh herbs, they taste so good! This is really quick and easy to make, and a great source of protein in a vegetarian diet.

Leave a Reply

